Movie Monday #7 – Gone but not forgotten…

11.07.2011

Challenge #7: Which deceased actor’s work/life/persona still continues to move you?

I had a couple of choices for this one. Finally, I chose the film star that has been in my life the longest. The King of Cool, Steve McQueen (1930-1980). The man who epitomizes masculinity, coolness and stardom. I saw The Great Escape (1963) as a teenager and my life was never the same after that. I became a fangirl, I wanted to know everything there was to know about my newfound idol, I wanted to see all his films, read every book ever written about him. It was a sad day when I heard that he had already been dead for long time and realized that there were only a limited number of Steve McQueen films and had to start rationing. I still haven’t seen all his films, for example The Reivers is still on my dvd shelf, waiting for the perfect moment to watch it. When I’ve seen every Steve McQueen film there is, what then?! My favourite SMQ films are The Great Escape (obviously!), Baby the Rain Must Fall (1965), Bullitt (1968) and Steve’s only comedy The Honeymoon Machine (1961). One of my favourite books on Steve is William Claxton’s photo book. It pictures among others McQueen riding motorcycles and cars, spending time with his wife and children, and my favourite, Steve with his cat Kitty Kat. There were many sides to Steve McQueen and this brilliant book proves it.

Leave a Reply

