Movie Monday #9 – What a Feeling!

26.07.2011

Challenge #9: Which movie reminds you of a turning point/meaningful event in your life?

Every teenage girl and boy should read S. E. Hinton‘s masterpiece The Outsiders. They should also watch Francis Ford Coppola’s film version. To me these two are always linked together because I read the book and watched the film when I started middle school at the age of 13. I don’t even remember if I read the book first and then saw the film or vice versa. Anyway, The Outsiders will always remind me of two things. Firstly, the realisation that you are no longer a child but a teenager and all that it entails. Secondly, the realisation of the fact that boys are people too, full of emotions and issues, just like us girls.

The Outsiders tells the story of Ponyboy Curtis and his friends who live on the wrong side of the tracks in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Ponyboy, his brothers and friends are Greasers who on a regular basis have (violent) confrontations with the rival gang, the Socs (=wealthy kids). One of these fights ends badly when a Soc dies and Ponyboy and his best friend Johnny have to leave town. The boys hide out in an abandoned church but that doesn’t last long… More interesting than the plot is the depiction of male bonding and the psyche of teenage boys. Ponyboy’s relationship with his older brothers is loving though not always easy. The gang is a tight-knit group of friends who all stand together no matter what. Ponyboy’s character is deeply humane and lovable, it makes you wish that the world had more Ponyboys in it.

2 Responses to “Movie Monday #9 – What a Feeling!”

  1. elicorleone Says:

    I love The Outsiders as a book (I was about ten when I read it for the first time), but I still haven’t seen the film – basically because I don’t want to. Ponyboy was one of my earliest loves and I don’t wish to spoil my image of him by seeing someone’s interpretation. However, I whole heartedly agree that every teenager – every person – should read the book. It’s just so good. 🙂

    -Elina-

  2. grezilda Says:

    I’m also a bit reluctant to watch book-to-film adaptations if I’ve read the book first and enjoyed it. Usually, I do watch the film at some point. Sometimes it is disappointing, mostly not though.


Leave a Reply

