Sweet As Can Be

01.08.2013

One of my favourite Finnish film stars is Tarja Nurmi. Actually, she was a model and a beauty queen, Miss Finland two years in a row (1959-60). She made a few films in the early sixties but never truly pursued a career in cinema. She left the show business to work in retail as a buyer for Kestilän Pukimo (clothing store). After she got married she became a housewife. Her characters in those few films were so sweet and/or innocent that sometimes, dare I say it,  she reminds me a little bit of my beloved Doris. I like her even though in an interview in 1969 Ms. Nurmi was quoted saying “Man is the crown of creation” in reference to whether women should stay at home or to pursue a career… Oh well, those were the times. I wish she had stayed in show business, she could have been a true star of the silver screen. Below is an article about Ms. Nurmi. Unfortunately, I have completely lost the source where I got it, it might be Elokuva-Aitta magazine circa 1964.

tarjanurmi01 (1) tarjanurmi02 (1)

Leave a Reply

